

## Board of Directors Welcomes New Board Member

Lisa Benna

Research Triangle Park, NC - January 2, 2019 – The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation welcomes GlaxoSmithKline Lisa Benna to its Board of Directors. The Board provides grant support to nonprofits across the state for programs that focus on health, science and education, and it's two signature programs, the Women in Science Scholars and the Child Health Recognition Awards.

Lisa is the Senior Vice President, Human Resources for the GSK U.S. Pharmaceuticals organization, where she is responsible for delivering the people agenda focused on talent, leadership and capability agenda and has a passion for driving culture change to build employee engagement.

"Lisa brings a unique perspective to the Board with her expertise" said Board Chairman Robert A. Ingram. "Her enthusiasm for improving the lives of all people will serve us well as we continue to promote and support programs that help meet the educational and health needs of North Carolina's society."

Lisa joined GSK in 2010, working in HR roles that focused on driving the people agenda across the global organization. She has been in her current position since September 2014. She also held a variety of human resource management and consulting positions previously across a spectrum of industries but with a strong focus on pharmaceuticals.

She holds a bachelor's degree from University at Albany, State University of New York in Management/Management Information Systems and has a GPHR (Global Professional in Human Resources) certification. In 2018, she received the *Luminary Award* from the Healthcare Businesswomen's Association, which recognizes leaders who serve as a role model in their company, actively mentor and sponsor others, help advance other women's careers and exhibit dedication to the healthcare industry.

## NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Board

Robert A. Ingram (Chair) Margaret B. Dardess (President) George B. Abercrombie Lisa Benna John F.A.V. Cecil Ran Coble

Shirley T. Frye Ann B. Goodnight Thomas R. Haber Paul A. Holcombe, Jr. Mark Werner Janice M. Whitaker