

Contact: 919 483-2140 September 11, 2015

info@ncgskfoundation.org

NORTH CAROLINA GLAXOSMITHKLINE FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES 2015 CHILD HEALTH RECOGNITION NOMINEES

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation today announced nominees for its 2015 Child Health Recognition Awards program, which since 1994 have honored public health professionals around the state for innovative programs that improve the health and safety of North Carolina's children and their families.

A selection committee of healthcare professionals chosen by the North Carolina Public Health Association (NCPHA) evaluates the nominations. A ceremony honoring award recipients and nominees will be held in Winston-Salem on Wednesday, September 16, during NCPHA's Annual Meeting.

This year's awards focus on programs that address evidenced-based issues of particular significance to the community being served and working in partnership with others to produce sustainable, improved health outcomes for children. Key focus areas include asthma, dental health, environmental health (healthy homes), immunizations, low-birth weight, mental health, nutrition, and substance abuse including drug alcohol and tobacco.

Following are nominees for the 2015 awards, which include monetary grants for educational purposes:

The **Lifetime Achievement Recognition Award**, given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to improving children's health services through a series of achievements:

- Marian Earls, MD; Director of Pediatric Programs, Community Care of North Carolina
- Lydia Lyon, RN; Pregnancy Care Manager, Union County Division of Public Health

The **Individual Recognition Award**, given to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to improving children's health services through a single effort:

- Rebecca "Beckie" Boulton, Public Health Dental Hygienist, NC Oral Health Section, Rockingham County Division of Public Health
- James "Jimmy" H. Hines, Jr., Health Director, Rutherford-Polk-McDowell District Health Department
- Maria Clara Laury, Health Promotions Bilingual Program Coordinator, Union County Division of Public Health

The **Public Health Staff Recognition Award**, given to full- or part-time employees or retirees of a local health department in recognition of their outstanding service in preventive health activities in their local community:

- Beth Ferree, RN, BSN; Moore County Health Department
- Luana Gibbs, RN, PHN; Hyde County Health Department
- Beth Fornadley Johnson, MPA; Appalachian District Health Department
- William Pilkington, DPA; Cabarrus Health Alliance
- Kelly Warnock, MPH, RD, LDN; Durham County Department of Public Health

The **Local Health Department Recognition Award**, given to departments that have developed innovative programs producing measurable, sustainable outcomes:

- Brunswick County Health Services, Immunization Team
- Buncombe County Health and Human Services, Adverse Childhood Experience (ACE) Collaborative
- Buncombe County Health and Human Services, Shield of Protection Immunization Program
- Cabarrus Health Alliance, Mobile Dental Clinic
- Catawba County Public Health, Dental Practice
- Cleveland County Health Department, School Health Staff
- Cumberland County Department of Public Health, Child Health Clinic
- Guilford County Department of Health & Human Services, Children's Environmental Health Section
- Guilford County Department of Health & Human Services, Early Is Best Home Visiting Program
- Henderson County Department of Public Health, Immunization Coalition
- Henderson County Department of Public Health, School Health Vision Screening Program
- Macon County Public Health Department, Child Dental Clinic
- Northampton County Health Department, Child Health Program
- Orange County Health Department, Dental Division
- Richmond County Health Department, Healthy Homes Program
- Toe River Health District, Mitchell-Yancey Substance Abuse Task Force
- Wilkes County Health Department, Child Health Well Child Checks
- Wilkes County Health Department, MESH Mental Health Program

A Selection Committee of healthcare professionals determines the award recipients. The 2015 Selection Committee includes:

Cindy B. Evans, RN-BC

Program Manager, Clinical Services
Wake County Human Services

Gerri Mattson, MD, MSPH, FAAP

Pediatrician

Sunnybrook, Wake County Human Services

Jennifer McCracken, RN, MSN

Health Services Manager Catawba County Public Health

Jackie Morgan, BA, candidate for MHA

Health Promotions Supervisor
Union County Division of Public Health

Karen Parks, BSW

Medical Social Worker

Chowan County Public Health

Kelly Spangler, LCSW, MSW, MPA

Regional Social Work Consultant

Women's Health Branch - Division of Public

Health

The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation created the Child Health Recognition Awards program to recognize excellence and innovation in child health care and to encourage the development of creative, effective approaches in the field of public health.

The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation supports activities that help meet the educational and health needs of today's society and future generations. The Foundation focuses on programs that emphasize the understanding and application of science, health and education at all academic and professional levels.